Institute for Learning Sciences & Teacher Education

Keep up to date with

all the ILSTE news & events

2018 Divergent Award for Excellence in 21st Century Literacies

THandbook-Coverhe new Handbook of Writing, Literacies, and Education in Digital Cultures, which brings together 50 key thinkers in the field, has been honoured with the 2018 Divergent Award for Excellence in 21st Century Literacies.

Professor Kathy A. Mills is lead editor of the handbook, as well as a contributing author, with USA co-editors, Dr Amy Stornaiuolo, Dr Anna Smith and Professor Jessica Zacher Pandya.

Some of LSIA’s Professors are also contributing authors, including Professors Len Unsworth and Theo van Leeuwen.

The Divergent Award for Excellence in 21st Century Literacies was established in 2016 to honour those who diverge from traditional pedagogies and research approaches to embrace the spirit of following a road less travelled.

An initiative of the 21st Century Literacies Research, USA, the award recognizes the indelible contributions of educators and scholars who have dedicated their careers to the theoretical and practical study of 21st Century Literacies:

Director, Shelbie Witte, wrote:

Given the tremendous impact the volume makes as a ground-breaking publication of the very best 21st century literacy voices our field has to offer, we could not let the opportunity to recognize your fine work pass us by.  As our inaugural book winner, your work will stand alongside the previous honorees include Donna Alvermann, Ernest Morrell, Hannah Gerber, Sara Kajder, and Antero Garcia.

All selectees are invited to deliver a keynote at the 2018 21st Century Literacies Lecture Series in February 2018 at Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK, USA.

Back to news