Institute for Learning Sciences & Teacher Education

Keep up to date with

all the ILSTE news & events

MERGA Research Award

MERGA Awards

The MERGA Research Award presentation. From Left Prof Jenette Bobis (MERGA Vice-President Research), Prof Vince Geiger (ACU), Prof Helen Forgasz (Monash), Prof Merrilyn Goos (UQ), Prof Tom Lowrie (MERGA President) , Dr Anne Bennison (UQ), Prof Shelley Dole (USC).

The MERGA Research Award is offered to an individual or team that has made an outstanding contribution to mathematics education research in the past three years. The Award has only been given twice since its inception in 2009.

A team, consisting of Prof Vince Geiger (ACU) and colleagues, Prof Merrilyn Goos (UQ), Prof Shelley Dole (University of the Sunshine Coast), Prof Helen Forgasz (Monash), and Dr Anne Bennison (UQ), were honored by a team MERGA Research Award for a research program focused on Numeracy across the Curriculum. This program has had national impact with uptake in policy documents and educational system curriculum guidelines for teachers.

Back to news